Katana kickstand creeping...

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Katana kickstand creeping...

Hey All!
    I have had my 06 Kat600 for a few weeks now. As you may remember this is my 7th bike so I'm not a newbie to the sport. I must say that the Kat is much heavier than my ninja but for what I bought it for (touring in style) it is a great bike. I can definitely feel the weight difference between it and the Ninja though. When I go from riding the Kat to the Ninja it feels like I have changed from a motorcycle to a ten speed.
    Anyway, I degress. One thing I have noticed with this bike is that when I put it on the kickstand I have to be extremely careful about placement. It definitely has a tendency to creep forward and fall off the stand. Since this ain't my first rodeo I try to pay extra attention to these kinds of details. I have found that if I leave it parked in first gear pushed to the most forward point it has helped. My ninja fell on me one day after a ride. I had just dismounted on a windy day and was removing my helmet with my back turned to the bike when the wind blew it over onto my legs. I was wearing full gear so I was not injured but I WAS pinned under the bike on my stomach. I was out by my shop in the back yard and was laughing because I could not move. Eventually I was ablt to wiggle my way out from under it. Thank God no one saw me. I have learned to be very careful about these things!
    Y'all have a great day!!!
    Dualsport.
    P.S. It was 29 degrees last here in Mobile, Alabama. I feel for you guys in the frigid regions. I count myself lucky to live in the south. Yesterday was the first day that it was too cold to ride. By next week it wil be back in the 70's! Thank God!!!!
    Push the limits, but always factor in the unknown....
    96 ATK 250
    2000 Road King Classic
    92 Suzuki Intruder 800
    06 Suzuki Katana 600