X

Pair of tires under 200?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pair of tires under 200?

Hello everyone, I am new to the sport and I would assume that tire choice has been beat to death in this section, but figured I would ask. I am looking for a set of tires for under 200.00. I have a 2001 Kat 600. I have a buddy that can get me "Stinkos" Advance mounted and balanced for around 190ish.. Is this a good deal? I'm just looking for something to learn the bike on. I figure next set I can upgrade to a better tire. Let me know if there is any other tires I might want to look at for around this price.. Thanks.
    Check my garage for current pic and upgrades

My build thread http://katriders.com/vb/showthread.php?t=127457

You should be able to get a set of the Conti Motions for about the same price, if not less.
    Pics
    Pics
    No pics yet
    Just because they sound the same doesn't mean they are: there≠their≠they're; to≠too≠two; its≠it's; your≠you're; know≠no; brake≠break

Comment

I'm a fan of Conti tires, so I would +1 to that suggestion...

Krey
      93 750 Kat

Modified Swingarm, 5.5 GSXR Rear with 180/55 and 520 Chain, 750 to 600 Tail conversion, more to come. Long Term Project build thread http://katriders.com/vb/showthread.php?t=96736

"I've done this a thousand times before. What could possibly go wron.... Ooops!"

Comment

Sounds good I'll look into them.

Comment

He can get the front Conti Motions, Shinko Advance or Shinko Podium for all the same price

The rears He can get the Conit's right now (out of stock everywhere) and he can get the Shinko Podium and Advance for about the same price. He said I might have to go with a 160/60/17.. I am guessing these will fit? and any pro's or cons to changing the tire size?

Comment

No cons really. makes the bike a little bit harder to lean over. My bike came with Stinkos, wouldnt recommend those. I use Dunlops RoadSmarts but those ran 330 mounted go with the continentals, they have a decent rep