Prospect from Costa Rica

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Prospect from Costa Rica

Hi people!

My name is Esteban, I'm from Costa Rica. I've been riding for 6 years now, not consecutive years as I've had several breaks in between. I learned to ride in my first bike, a Suzuki GS450L ("custom") 1981. For the age, bike was in top shape until the CDI burned out on me (lucky me, I was at home)... I ended selling it and that was my first break...

Then I found a non running Virago 1000 1984 in decent shape (chrome flaking on some parts only) and one carb rebuild away and I was out on the streets again... I rode my Virago for several years, alternating with my car for commuting and doing weekend rides with the "gang"... Then my bike started acting on me again and my life took an unforeseen turn and I sold it and quit riding (mostly because I didn't have a bike =0)... That was my second break...

Now things are a little more easy for me and I'm looking for another bike. This time I'm looking for something more sportier but not a full race bike. As an old Suzuki fan, the Katana seemed to be a natural progression from my oldy GS450...

Right now I've targeted tree bikes. Here the price of vehicles is almost as twice (because of taxes and such) so don't panic with this ciphers:

red 1991: 3900 USD
    green 1997: 3780 USD
    yellow 1999: 4400 USD

I'm ruling out the red 1991 because it's 6 years older than the 1997 and 200 bucks higher! Today I'm going to see the green 1997 and see how it runs, and then the 1999 if it's still available... I don't know why but I like more the looks of the pre98 over the 98+

If everything comes right... I'll be soon a new active member of this forum... by the way I already downloaded and read most of the service manual and seems as easy to work on as my old GS450, just double of things to work on...

I'll keep you posted!

Welcome to KR.
    sigpicLife throws you curves......enjoy the ones you get when riding.