X

Advice for Longer Rides

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice for Longer Rides

I have been riding my '02 Katana 600 for three or four years now and enjoy riding it. However, since buying it, I have become a fan of the longer rides (2+ hours) and I would like to be able to do a bit of traveling on it at some point. On shorter rides, comfort was not an issue, but with the longer rides my hands, arms and back all feel it. I know that when you ride, you are supposed to hold most of your weight on your back to relax the pressure on your arms, but that doesn't work forever. To combat this this, I was wondering if anyone would be able to offer suggestions or advice on my plan to change the bike.

First off, I have read that a bunch of people seem to like the Spiegler Handlebar Conversion kit. I think I'm going to go with the Spiegler bars because in addition to raising the bars up, they also appear to bring the bars a bit closer to the rider (I'm just guessing about this part based on the pictures I've seen, but I'm not sure). I'm hoping this will allow me to utilize a bit more of my Corbin Saddle seat. I'm about 6 feet tall and my butt still doesn't sit back into the saddle, I'm sometimes feel like I'm riding on the gas tank a little bit.

Secondly, I'm going to remove the rear Fender. I realize this doesn't do really anything, I just don't like it.

Thirdly, Cyberpoet's guide on touring recommended gel-palmed gloves, Which I will definitely be looking into.

Fourthly, finding some more comfortable hand grips. Somebody recommended looking into BMW grips.

Fifthly, cruise control. I need to do some more research on this and it will probably take me a while to get around to it and then even longer to get it done, but I haven't scoured the forums on this item yet.

If you have any suggestions, please, let me know!