X

New to the forum few tech ?'s 88 kat

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New to the forum few tech ?'s 88 kat

how's it going everyone just purchased my first bike an 88 katana, pearl white with blue. I am a entry level tech going to universal technical institute to become a better tech, i have basic knowledge and know how to diagnose so dont be afraid to get technical with me. The bike is not running I've purchased a battery and need to charge it, apon tear down, I come across the valve cover loose without a gasket, #4 plug wire is cut away for some odd reason so it needs replaced . The carbs are spotless as well has the head it self, the bike reads 10044 miles, THE oddest thing the valve cover has a cut in the top where u can see the cam chain, why in the world would someone do that?? an I have a few questions,

1, link to a website with spark plugs and wires an what looks to be a selinoid the wires come out of?
    2, link to purchase a valve cover gasket, an possibly a valve cover if my cover is ruined because the previous person cut a hole in it.
    3, the 2 relays next to the battery by the circuit breaker with the red dot in the middle, what do they control?
    If someone has any of these parts forsale I will Forsure purchase them from you.

welcome to KR
    search the Katana wiki and you will probably be able to find a service manual link
    A general search may help you find members here that have used covers etc

the red button is a main breaker , button is for reseting
    it usually get tripped by guys when they try to boost the bike with a running car
    Blood , its in you to give! http://www.blood.ca/

Comment

Welcome to KR.
      http://www.ebay.com
      http://www.bikebandit.com
      1992- project katfighter
      2005- GSXR750
      2001- TL1000R
      http://katriders.com/vb/showthread.php?t=111130
      www.lunchtimecigar.com

KATRIDERS RALLY 2014 - cintidude04
      KATRIDERS RALLY 2015 - cintidude04