Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• your thoughs... first bike.

mispelled the title.. sorry.

hello.
    i'm looking to buy my first bike and my local dealer has a 93 katana 600 with 15,000 miles on it.

would this be an ok first bike?
    i have experiance on dirtbikes and quads, so i'm not a total newb.

Also they are asking 1999.99 for it. from the pictures i have seen it seems to be in very good condition... will go see in person in a few days. is that a good price?

Any problems that i should know about with these bikes?
    Last edited by spartan985; 03-11-2008, 06:24 PM.

Bike good; especially for someone of your prior experience... make sure it's what you're looking for, though. It's a heavier steel framed, sport-tourer bike, not a SS crotch rocket.

Price, though... a bit high. A buddy just picked up a 96 Kat 600 around the corner from me, bone stock except for the exhaust and in exceptional condition - paid $1,800. I'm a cheap bastage and would have probably offered less. A 93 Kat 600 - I'd say no more than $1,600.

Only rear problems are that the carbs get dirty pretty frequently - put a set of inline filters in and you'll be okay. AND, if it's been beat on, could have 2nd gear slippage issues... otherwise, the motor is bullet proof.
    "Men will get no more out of life than they put into it."

Comment

Jim pretty much summed it up.

If you are okay with the drawbacks as a starter bike... you'll probably grow into the kat without a problem.
      -Steve

sigpic
      Welcome to KatRiders.com! Click here to register
      Don't forget to check the Wiki! http://katriders.com/wiki

Comment

Originally posted by jgmann67 View Post
        Bike good; especially for someone of your prior experience... make sure it's what you're looking for, though. It's a heavier steel framed, sport-tourer bike, not a SS crotch rocket.