X

Chain inspection

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Chain inspection

When inspecting the chain, I noticed that I had several 'O' rings missing & some stuck in between the links.
    1. I assume I need a new chain?
    2. I have almost about 9,800 miles, does this seem abnormal?
    3. Should the sprockets be replaced at the same time so it all breaks in together?
    4. What is the cost for having this done?
    5. I am new to the 2 wheel world (this is my first bike), Is there anything else I should know about concerning this issue?

Hi, welcome to Katriders a great source for repair and modification information for your GSXF Suzuki, please take the time to browse the different forums and read the how-to/faq forum before asking any questions. You may find just the answer you were looking for and so much more!

Comment

Re: Chain inspection

Chains and sprockets should be replaced together, as the chains tend to strech as they wear, and the teeth on the sprockets bend with them.

Putting a new chain on old sprockets will significantly shorten the life of the chain.

From the shops I called earlier this year inquiring about having my chain & sprockets replaced, I was quoted $160-$200 in labor, plus the cost of the chain and sprockets.
      Nick www.naskie18.com Googletalk: naskie18 AIM: naskie18

Comment

Re: Chain inspection

Originally posted by nimblekat
        When inspecting the chain, I noticed that I had several 'O' rings missing & some stuck in between the links.
        1. I assume I need a new chain?
        2. I have almost about 9,800 miles, does this seem abnormal?
        3. Should the sprockets be replaced at the same time so it all breaks in together?
        4. What is the cost for having this done?
        5. I am new to the 2 wheel world (this is my first bike), Is there anything else I should know about concerning this issue?
        1. Only you would know what you assume, but I suggest a new chain is very much in order.