Why can't people clean carbs?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Why can't people clean carbs?

Serious question!

See it all the time in the forum, bike not running - and all the evidence points toward bad or dirty carbs.

I am no expert on the subject, there are heaps of people much more knowledgable on carbs than me - but it seems I'm spending more and more time repeating myself - and I'm a newbie here, and I never have problems with carbs because I clean them!

Please peeps - have a look at the forum, there's great big stickies about carbs and how to clean them for your particular model.

Mods - I would suggest making a sticky link for Carb Cleaning 97- (101) and one for Carb Cleaning 98+ (102), plus whatever particulars exist for the larger engined or single year bikes MORE visible.

Rant over everyone, but really - I needed to say that!

Most are new to bikes and the thought of tearing them apart and getting them back together correctly make them apprehensive to do it. When they do they usually don't take their time and make absolutely sure they are clean, so when they fail they don't want to go through the task all over again. My rule when cleaning carbs is to do it twice before assembly. 1 time to work gunk loose, the second time gets them clean.
    "I'm sorry, I didn't mean to upset you when I called you stupid. I thought you already knew..."
    spammer police
    USAF veteran
    If your a veteran, join the KR veterans group

Comment

there already is a sticky duder.

Comment

Yeah I know there's a sticky - but I think it should be a bit more visible as peeps don't seem to be able to find it

Comment

It's not going to help any. You'll still see the same questions repeated over and over again.

Comment

its not that they don't see it, they just blatantly ignore it, or are to lazy to search.
            never argue with an idiot, they'll drag you down to there level and beat you with experience.

Originally posted by GSXFJim