X

Carbs overflowing :(

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Carbs overflowing :(

So I managed to get my 98 750 running but the carbs are overflowing.the petcock had a problem with and inner seal that ended up having been destroyed so I replaced that and it stopped my fuel problem. Now I can start the bike but the carbs leak out of the excess drain area, not the gasket area. Anyways I am pretty sure my needles are seating correctly. As per manual, the floats have to be 13mm. Does that mean 13mm when extended or when contracted all the way up or down? Thanks for help I'm still a newbie

I'll leave carb float questions to those who know a lot more than I do - but if fuel is coming out your carb overflows, and the bike is upright - I'd say they are stuck well open.

Carb rebuild and oil change for you!

Comment

Originally posted by Stumpy View Post
      I'll leave carb float questions to those who know a lot more than I do - but if fuel is coming out your carb overflows, and the bike is upright - I'd say they are stuck well open.

Carb rebuild and oil change for you!
      The carbs were rebuilt a while back and then the bike had been stored for a few years. I cleaned the carbs thoroughly. Why an oil change?

Comment

Well, you haven't cleaned your carbs or set them properly, which is why they leak.

You need an oil change because all that fuel which has drained out your carb overflows, has also leaked into your crankcase. Checked your oil level recently?

All that needs to be removed, replaced, fixed and sorted.

Comment

Well, you haven't cleaned your carbs or set them properly, which is why they leak.

You need an oil change because all that fuel which has drained out your carb overflows, has also leaked into your crankcase. Checked your oil level recently?

All that needs to be removed, replaced, fixed and sorted.