X

Loose Cam chain

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Loose Cam chain

So i'm a noob and I apologize in advance for that.

I took my 2006 GSXF600, just rolled over 27,000 miles,into my local shop this weekend for its service. (valve adjustment, oil change, check chain wear, check hub bearings etc). All the stuff I can do, but don't have enough time.

I get a call saying that my cam chain is loose, and that its going to be between $2800-$3000 for them to fix. I immediately declined their services.

Their justification is that its a 3 day job, they have to tear down the engine, replace the cam chain and tensioners, and do the rings, bearings, and re-hone cylinder whiles its apart.

The worst part is that the mechanic said that the CC and CCT only last 22,000-25,000mi and you will never see a Katana go past 30,000 mi without needing this $2800 work.

SOOOO...The big question here is what to do next?

Find a mechanic that isn't a dumb ass.

Comment

Trust me, I'm looking.

Comment

Originally posted by arsenic View Post
        Find a mechanic that isn't a dumb ass.
        I second that! Don't let them take you for a ride. idiot mechanics.
        sigpicLife throws you curves......enjoy the ones you get when riding.
        ------------------------------------------
        89 GSX750F(sold....sob)
        96 YZF 1000R

Comment

Originally posted by Slofuze View Post
          I second that! Don't let them take you for a ride. idiot mechanics.
          Well that's the funny part, they had to know they were pricing themselves out of a job, so why would they do that?

Now I'm more interested in how do I positively diagnose that it is a stretched cam chain on my own? Knowledge is power, and I lack it.

Comment

Buy a low milage engine and swap it.

Sent from my SCH-I605 using Tapatalk 2

Comment