X

1989 kat750f Ran out of Gas..Now it doesn't want to start

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 1989 kat750f Ran out of Gas..Now it doesn't want to start

Hi there, this is my first time having issue with my beloved 750...thanks to my lady nagging to go home I didn't get gas..so the next day I started my bike to go gas it up and it run fine...like always.. but then it shut down..I try to started again and it did for a bit then it die again..I try starting it again but nothing..I check the tank and it was empty..I went to get gas (I used 89) and I but about a gallon..I put the bike on prime and I try to start it but nothing..I try in different possition. The Pri...On...and Reserve but nothing....I started moving the carb regulator to the right and to the left. try to start it again but nothing.. I left it all night on the prime possition. I charge the battery early this morning and after about 4 hours of charge I try again and nothing....Can any one help me!!I don't know what to do..I'm charging the battery again and right now a the bike is with the valve pointing to reserve..plz help I hate to see my baby not running...
    Last edited by lucky7; 03-12-2009, 04:36 PM.

Sounds like you might have sucked some crap into the carbs. Pull the fuel lines off the tank to make sure the petcock isn't plugged up. If you get fuel out on prime and none in the on position, then it may be time for a carb cleaning...
    sigpic
    1990 750 KAT, 2010 ZX-14

Comment

+1 I would guess the petcock isn't working and then work from there.
      Must read for carb tuners......http://www.factorypro.com/tech/tech_...m_engines.html

Comment

but...
        Katriders.com, we've got dumb answers!

Comment

If water was in the bottom of the tank, it's in the bowls so your not feeding gas. I'd check the flow from the petcock as mentioned, but then I would look at draining the bowls on the carbs before pulling them off. It's possible it's just water, with out anything else.