X

Sad day for mikey...

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sad day for mikey...

Well I got my factory pro jet kit today. I'm a newbie in training so of course I'm gonna do it myself. I put 117.5 mains in, 115 out. When I put the new needles in, I put the top e clip on the 2nd notch from the top, put the plastic spacer in, and then put the other e clip in the bottom slot with the tiny washer on top of all that. I set the floats as close as I could to 15mm (using a cm ruler), had the A/F screws out 2.5 turns.

So I go to start her up, just for s^%#s and giggles, the only thing I'm missing is the exhaust can cause I'm waitin on my rs-3. I went to start her up, I got a pretty good fire right off the bat with a little twist of the throttle but she didn't start. I kept crankin her, figuring the bowls of the carbs just needed to get some more gas in them. As I kept crankin her of course the battery starts to die down, so I started pushin her over to my truck to jump her, I just wanted to hear it turn over and idle smoothly.

As I start pushin it to my truck I smell gas, so I take a look...There's gas coming from the drain in the bottom of the airbox and it looked I had quite the plumbing leak coming from the bottom of my carbs. I can't even cut it down to which carb was leakin it looked like all of them were. The bike wasn't even running! Maybe new gaskets on the bottom of the bowls? I'm baffled, and highly disappointed/frustrated. I haven't gotten to taking the carbs back apart because it got dark out and I'm confined to working in the driveway (sun went bye bye). If anyone has any idea what could be going on here I could use some help (CP, arsenic, Hardlydangerous, anyone...) and would greatly appreciate it, thanks guys.
    Last edited by Mikey Dank; 02-26-2009, 07:09 PM.
    "If you aint first, you're last"