X

White smoke coming from under seat

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• White smoke coming from under seat

I was riding for around an hour yesterday (pretty hard on the bike), and when I came to a stop light i saw white smoke coming from under my seat. Upon closer investigation I realized it was coming from a filter behind the air filter. I have no idea what this filter is, and everytime I come to a stop I am able to notice white smoke coming out of it. I'm new to bikes and I'm hoping I didn't buy a Kat with some serious problems. Thanks guys
    1991 Katana 750

Being new to motorcycles blows, but at least i'm learning.

there's a filter behind the air filter? Could you be more specific? Is it in the air box?

Comment

Can you take a picture?
      -Steve

sigpic
      Welcome to KatRiders.com! Click here to register
      Don't forget to check the Wiki! http://katriders.com/wiki

Comment

I don't know if it's another filter or not, but it looks as if it is a small circular filter that has the same type of exterior as a filter. It has one hose connected to it and is bolted on the bike directly behind the the air filters, and in front of the battery.
        1991 Katana 750

Comment

Sounds like the breather filter off the carbs like you have on your bike MD. I am betting that is what it is.
          www.mopowersports.com

Comment

Is it a california bike? You said "Filter's" as in plural. I assume you have k&n pods installed? I'm not aware of another piece that goes there. Typically, the battery is too close to the air filter for there to be another part there, on an older kat anyways.

Maybe it's some sort of EGR canister for cali is the only thing I can think of.

New to Katriders? Click Here!

Comment

yeah, if it's a cali model, thats the only thing that would have a weird filter set up.

Comment