little short for new kat

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• little short for new kat

Hello all,
    I bought this new 06 kat 600 and I would like to adjust the bike so I can stand flat footed at stops. I am only 5'7 and I cant quite stand on both feet flat footed. I am only lacking about an inch. What can I do to lower the stance of the bike?

Is it as simple as loosening the four bolts on the front forks and lowering the front a little? Or is it more complex?

Please be as descriptive as possible because I am new to the whole bike scene.
    2006 Kat 600

Just lowering the front will disrupt the bikes handling. You should lower the front and rear. You can lower the rear buy getting lowering dog bones. Ne-oublie sells them for the Kat. He can make you custom ones to raise or lower it as much as you want.

Do a search this has been reviewed before you can see what others have done.

Comment

there are lowering kits for $30-$50 (dog bones).

i'm 5'7" with a 29" (give or take) inseam. my bike is stock, after awhile i got used to tippy toeing or just planing one foot down. previously rode a scooter where i had to do the same, this is also my first bike.

How To: Install Lowering Links Tutorial

Comment

Don't bother....you don't need to stand on both feet - the bike is supposed to be moving! (or left foot down when it isn't.) Making the suspension worse is.....uhhhh......worse. 'N stuff.

I can barely get both my feet flat on the ground on my Kat - but I still can't think of a reason to actually DO it...

If you're worried about backing up - back the bike up when you're NOT on it. Then get on, start it, and pull away.
        FrankenKat 1216
        GS Fiter 816
        GSXR750! (race)

Comment

Ways of lowering the rider height:

(A) Install a longer dogbone (reduces rear ride height). Simplest solution, most cost-effective IMHO.
          (B) Switch to 60 profile tires in the stock widths. This will knock about a half-inch off the seat height.