Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

Newbie from San Clemente, CA with new project!

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie from San Clemente, CA with new project!

Hi!

I have never worked on motorcycles before! I think I have just joined what seems to be a very active forum! Right off the bat I want to THANK Katrider, Keith Bender for his Carb 101 post and for e-mailing me his Carb 101 document.

I have recently purchased a 1990 Suzuki Katana 600 project bike that had been parked for three years . (An item that has always been on my bucket list!) The caveat: My wife who is vehemently opposed to me owning and riding motorcycles ( I do own and ride another bike) has agreed to do the Motorcycle Safety Course, get her M1(Many years ago she owned and rode a 250cc to school) and do ONE ride only to a destination on completion of my project!!!! Talk about pressure to do a good job on the bike. People who know my wife say I have already achieved the impossible by getting her to commit!

I am three weeks into my project and got the bike as a non starter with no assurances that it was sound or that it would run. So far I have a) stripped the few pieces of broken plastic fairing off the bike, b) dismantled, cleaned and reassembled the carburetors (have never done anything like this in my life before!) and c) removed the front brake assembly for servicing/rebuild and also removed the headlight assembly for replacement and painting.