X

New Kat winter project in the Rockies

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New Kat winter project in the Rockies

Good afternoon friends im a 23 year old auto glass installer and I recently purchased a 1989 Katana 600. I have some restoration experience and have always been a enthusiasts. I bought the bike from a person who didnt take very good care of her but I saved her from the barn he had it stored in since 1998. My plan is to completely frame up restore the bike. When I purchased the bike at the beginning of October I started checking the electrical and that was quite the inspection. The previous owner clipped many wires and spliced many but leaving many open. In the last week I've got most of the electrical deciphered and labeled.
    My next step was to diagnose the motor and attempt to get it to run. Starter and relay are good, coil wires plugs and boots are in average condition and will be replaced soon and carbs need rebuilt and synced. After a half a can of carb cleaner it started and idled but not for long.
    I'm excited to tell everyone what I'm doing and seeing everyone's beautiful suzukis and projects. Thanks for the warm welcome! Hopefully you can see the pictures I will post the whole album soon of my progress
    [ATTACH][ATTACH]image.jpg[/ATTACH][/ATTACH]
    If you can't find the time to do it right the first time, how can you find the time to do it over again??

Welcome to KR and enjoy your project. There is plenty of information and experience available here. Take advantage of the search function.
    sigpic Mulholland Hwy Ride
    1992 Katana GSX600F (on permanent loan to a family member)
    2000 Suzuki Hayabusa
    First Hayabusa Commercial Hayabusa Design
    Hayabusa #1 Wonder of Motorcycles

Comment

Welcomw to KR!.....good kat...

Comment

Welcome to KR! and goodluck on the project.
        2002 750 Kat
        2013 Polaris 850 XP LE(wrecked)
        2002 Ski-Doo MXZ 800
        2002 Ski-Doo MXZ 800 X-package