X

Greetings! Pop-up owner in Michigan

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Greetings! Pop-up owner in Michigan

Hey all! I've been hoping to find a good forum-based community for these things. Hopefully there's enough North America owners around to have a get-together or something in the future.

My name's Brian, and I own a 1985 Katana 750 and an '82 Katana 1000. Gammarider on here found the 750 for me back in '99, and I can't thank him enough. I fell in love with the looks of the pop-up back in about '88 or '89 while thumbing through a Tamiya model catalog when I was a freshman in high school. Little did I know at the time they weren't ever available in the US.

In the last 13 years of owning the bike, I've gone through a few rounds of modifications. Currently it rides on TL1000R forks and wheels and a custom-fabbed swingarm. Other goodies are a modified Yoshimura pipe, Fox Shocks rear shock, K&N filter pods, Wiseco 816cc pistons, Koso gauge cluster and a few minor tweeks like GSXR rearsets and frame bracing.

I'm currently working out a few bugs and loose ends and enjoying it for the season as-is. This winter, I plan on blowing it all apart to tie up some more loose ends and redo all the cosmetic stuff. Need to fix the dent in the tank and repaint the frame and bodywork. Still debating keeping the wheels black or going red-orange to match the lettering on the bike.

Pics from a year or so ago:

The 1000 is an all orginal, low mileage bike that just needs some minor cosmetic work, and a couple mechanical things.

A pic from a couple years ago, after doing quite a bit of cleanup, including repainting the nose fairing and carefully removing a black two-tone on the tank, preserving the original silver paint. I've since added the front turn signals, again thanks to Gammarider for that!

Brian Rogers
    '85 Katana 750, lots of mods
    '82 Katana 1000, all stock
    http://www.rupelli.com

Damn, that is so fine looking. Exellent job man.