new kat riders member-

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new kat riders member-

hey everyone
    my name is nate-im 22- i just picked up my first bike- a blue 2000 katana! I rode a 600 radian for about six months-been ridin all around asheville and a few states. The katana has always caught my eye as the next step in my motorcycling career and now ive got one.

Im plannin on workin on it a bit- the bike has 9700 miles on it and during the test drive seemed to run just fine. The only thing i have noticed is it idles at around 1000-1100 rpms and seems just shy of smooth runin(at idle)- but while accelerating and higher rpms i dont notice any hesitation and runs just fine. So i have been researchin a bit(my knowlege is limited i am not a mechanic) and seems that this low idle can be remidied by simply adjusting a certain screw on the carbs? I loostened the fairing to investigate and did not see any screw to be ajdusted that was easily accessible. any advice?
    also the bike was obvioulsy dropped and got what looks like a shotty mako paint job to cover. The right handle bar(nothin else) is bent 3/4 inch down but i have not noticed and strange vibration or wobble while ridin at any speed. any advice on replacing that handle bar?is that somethin i could tackle my self- its really just annoyin me more than anything and it rubs against the fairing at full turn. saw some handle bars for about $35.
    im going to paint the bike black or maybe a gunmetal grey. not sure yet- might even do dark maroon with black ghost skulls on the tank(im a tattoo artist) a friend of mine does body / paint-
    ANY ways look forward to hearing some advice from those more experienced with these bikes
    thx nate_

Welcome to KR! Let's see some pictures of your bike. Is it a 600cc or 750cc?