Checking in from the PNW

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Checking in from the PNW

Hey all,

Brand new rider here. Bought my first bike a week ago and have spent much time trying to get it running. Having some problems so i thought i would check the web to see what i could find and here i am! I am working on an 89 GSX 750 Katana. Any help would greatly be appreciated and i am looking forward to meeting some new people on here, talking to some fellow mechanics (I work on new fleet vehicles for a living) and maybe find a couple riding buddies from around NE Portland/ Gresham.

Feel free to hit me up on here anytime.
    Jerry

Welcome Jerry! This is a great place for all things Katana. Also, I happen to be a mechanic (not professionally) and live about a half hour north of you in LaCenter. I've been turning wrenches as a hobby for 15 years now, and am currently working on an MGB convertible, swapping in a japanese turbo 4 banger. Anyways, hit up the mechanical section. Lots of good stuff there!

Comment

Welcome to KR

Comment

04redkat- you know anyone around our area that may be able to help me bring my gsx to life?

Comment

What is wrong with it/ or what are you trying to do to it? Check out the Katana Wiki.. Most of the stuff is posted in their.
          Check my garage for current pic and upgrades

My build thread http://katriders.com/vb/showthread.php?t=127457

Comment

Unfortunately, I'm pretty new here and not really sure. Are you looking for a professional shop to look at it, or a mechanic on the side work on it for a 12 pack of beer type? I know of a reputable shop in Portland, but not sure if you want to pay or not.

Comment

Redkat- definitely know the feeling of looking for a side mechanic. That's what I do for cars for ppl I know. I know Portland motorcycle and viscous cycles are respectable companies but can't afford the 70dollar an hour flat rate.