Brand new to bikes from OH

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Brand new to bikes from OH

Hey guys,

I just purchased my first bike yesterday. It is a 98 GSX750F. Has a salvage title unfortunately, but it has only 7200 miles and I got it for $1000 after the guy just payed $1100 for maintenance in June. Seems to run fine. Needs to be repainted, and luckily for me the old owner primed it, still needs a little sanding and more priming though. I'm thinking I'm going to paint it all gloss black or two tone white and black and go for some kind of sinister look. Hopefully all goes well and I can put my own little creativity into it without dumping too much money in as well.

Am I going to have a really hard time with the whole salvage title thing? Some people say yes and some say no....some personal experience and input would be nice.

Nick
    Findlay, Ohio
    '98 GSX750F SOLD
    Looking for project bike back in Jersey.

Welcome to KR!!! Sorry, I have no experience with a salvage title, but I'm sure somebody will be along to help.
    I finally got home and get to ride my KAT!!!
    sigpic

Comment

here in maine, all youd have to do is have the bike pass inspection and send for a re- title. not really hard to do. im not sure how it goes in other states though.
      easy way to find out, just go to your local dvm and inquire about it.

Comment

It's not hard, but keep receipts for EVERYTHING that you replace on the bike. I had some friends that rebuilt salvage cars as their main income, and they said that the guys can get pretty anal about receipts for parts that have been replaced. If you can take before/after pictures that would probably help as well. They just want to know that it has been fixed and that it wasn't fixed with stolen parts.