X

Newcomer from Southern California - Riverside

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newcomer from Southern California - Riverside

Hey guys, my name is Jon. I've been a stalker of this site for a few months now, reading, scowering, wasting tons and tons of time on here reading. Found this site in June when I bought my Kat. Wanted to post a lot of times, but I work night shift, and was overall rather intimidated at my lack of bike knowledge haha. Rather weird to admit because I'm such an outgoing person. Anyway, hiya, nice to meet you all - and all that jazz : )

Mine's a 1990 GSXF 600 I bought from a guy for 900$ cash. I'm a poor college student who needs transportation and has been in love with bikes forever, but never had one. Ridden dirt-bikes and I always used to take my friends ninja 650 out for spins hehe.

But reading around, it seems like this bike will need a lot of work, and frankly I'm overwhelmed heh. It has the 2nd gear problem, slips out at 3k rpm back into neutral, though I usually just double shift up and skip it straight to third. I'm pretty sure the carbs need to be sync'd, because it's getting bad gas mileage and backfires(what's the other one called? hah) from the exhaust. The guy had a slip on DnD which actually sounds really nice, and some whack red/black paint job he did from a rattle can. Unfortunately he used no prep work, so I'll be repainting it sometime in the future. Also the back breaks seem to have a leak in the hydrolics somewhere, they weren't grabbing, I bled them out with a friend and refilled the resevior with fluid, stayed and gripped well for about 3 days, then lost all it's ....compression? haha.