X

new here

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new here

hello fellas, i just purchased a 97 GSX 600F. an had a few questions..
    it was only $800.. the guy replaced the motor, an during rebuild had issues with the install. he replaced the left banks fuel line with a line that was too short so it kinked under the tank. causeing it too not run without choke.. so it looked he backed out the idle screw all the way out to compensate cause he didnt know why it wouldnt run without choke.. so i took a chance an lucked out so far.. (yoshima header back, new clutch, new motor, new chock cable, plugs, oil, filter). an im a beginner to sport bikes. rode cruisers before..

1. needs tires can i run a 120 70 17 (front)
    180 55 17 (rear).

2. an what fairings work with with a 97.. i see ebay has em listed for 97-03. but i thought the years were 93-97 98-06?

3. (Crazy question).. i thinks its a air cooled from riding right?.. would a radiator fan placed in front of radiator help?. or is there one on there already?

thanks for any info guys thanks

I am buying a whole slew of parts today. Was just looking for input thanks.. as I also want a taller rear. For I am 6,2.. would a 98 gsxr 750 with resivoir a direct bolt in? With increase in height
    Last edited by xredneckf150x; 07-03-2014, 08:19 AM.

Comment

2. Fairings: You'd be looking at 89-97 Fairings. You will have a hard time finding new ones without paying crazy high prices. Your best bet is keep your eyes peeled on the forums or ebay for someone parting out. If you see one newly listed fairing (in good condition) on ebay, message the guy if he'll sell all of them to you.

If you've got decent plastics, might be more worth it to bondo and repaint

3. If you've got a problem with it overheating, check your oil cooler lines to see if they're flowing right. If you have to, you can also check this thread: http://katriders.com/vb/showthread.php?t=72162

Comment