Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

New member: How much is this bike worth?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New member: How much is this bike worth?

Hey guys I'm not too sure if this type of thread is allowed here but anyway, I'm new to the whole 2 wheeled world. But I've been racing ATV motocross for 4 years, so I'm not stranger to motorsports or how bikes/ATVs work.
    Anyway, I'm looking for a possible project bike to buy so I can fix it up over the winter and ride in the spring. My friend actually traded his dirtbike for a 1990 Katana GSX600F(if thats correct), and he offered to sell it to me because he knows that I want a project.
    But with us both being new to road bikes we have no idea how much this bike would be worth. So heres the story with the bike:
    1990 Model year
    Odo says 97XX miles
    Speedo doesn't work
    Gas gauge doesn't work
    Needs windsheild
    Needs new keys/tumbler. The PO said someone tried to steal it back in the 90s
    Needs blinkers, and some blinkers don't blink, but they light up
    All the fairings were poorly spray painted black(undersides are still red, you can see in the pics below)
    Battery is dead
    And overall it needs some love.

I rode the bike today and it runs pretty good, but if I got it I would do a major tune up and refresh(clean the carbs, new clutches etc)
    I'm no stranger to working on bikes and quads. Every winter I tear my quad down to the frame, powdercoat everything, and rebuild my motor. And by rebuild the motor I mean split the cases and replace the crank, piston and every bearing, so I'm no n00b with mechanics. I've done motor swaps in cars too but thats irrelevant.
    So here is some pictures of the bike. What do you guys think its worth? thanks in advance

Is the child included?