X

New '96 katana 600

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• New '96 katana 600

Im new to motorcycles, and just bought an $800 katana 600 off ebay; should be coming in wednesday or thursday.

The ebay listing said it hadnt been ridden in five years, 23k miles on it, and garage kept. The battery is said to be new, but has been sitting with the bike (needs charging). When the previous owner tried to start it a few weeks ago, the engine turned over freely, but was said to have "a weak spark".

I plan on doing everything to the bike myself if possible as id like to think im reasonably mechanically inclined. What are the first things I should look for (things specific to kats) assuming that charging the battery doesn't fix the issue? What could go wrong with the bike after simply sitting for 5 years?

Also, I bought a shoei tz-r helmet, and am planning on icon accelerant jacket/gloves. Does anyone have any experience with any of these? Thanks.

Here are two of the ebay pictures of my bike; I plan on painting all fairing and tank black, with red wheels and painting the bit of frame seen through the gap in the fairing red.
    Attached Files
    Last edited by andrewm921; 08-08-2009, 11:42 PM. Reason: re-wording
    Originally posted by loudnlow7484
    I read into a lot of things, and helmets are no exception.

Full faced helmets say to me "I take riding seriously. I've made mistakes, but I've learned from them. I'm either a proficient motorcyclist, or trying to become one"

Brain buckets say to me "I ride because it helps me get mass quantities of low-quality vag"

Welcome to KR! This site is awesome I recommend checking out this site as it pertains to used vehicles: http://www.motorcycleanchor.com/moto...uyingused.html
    Good luck with everything!
    "When you work on your mysterious lady part stuff, you should have the right tools, too. That's why you should use Maypax. The official tampon of NASCAR." Ricky Bobby

sigpic

Comment

Welcome