X

bullcrap

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• bullcrap

why are kats overweight and underpowered. several websites say that my 96 750 has around 93 hp and weighs around 530 550 wet. my buddies gsxr 600 weighs around 480 and has a 100 hp. either i'm getting bad info or this difference seems very stupid. i don't know how accurate his info is about his gsxr but if it's right i should have done some investigating before i bought my kat for a 1000 dollars. i know it's a good deal, but i thought getting a 750 would get me a faster bike. i'm pretty new to bikes and didn't know anything about katanas. i had a 96 600 bandit before i got my kat. don't take this i wrong i love my kat, but i thought a 750 would be faster.

Yo......google and read........ you definitely have some bad info.
    sigpicLife throws you curves......enjoy the ones you get when riding.
    ------------------------------------------
    89 GSX750F(sold....sob)
    96 YZF 1000R

Comment

wikipedia Katana and all the stats should be on there
      1999 Katana 750

Comment

i looked

i checked google and wiki, i seen 83 to 100 hp and nothing about weight.

Comment

I think mine weighs in at 431 lbs. I rather doubt your 750 is heavier.
          sigpicLife throws you curves......enjoy the ones you get when riding.
          ------------------------------------------
          89 GSX750F(sold....sob)
          96 YZF 1000R

Comment

I weighed my 2001 Kat 750 at Wheelers Performance while attending the rally.
            with a full tank, it was 501lbs.

as an aside, Neros Kawi ZX14 was 529 wet.

the differences here are:
            water cooled (kat is oil cooled)
            fuel injected (kat is carbed)
            higher performance engine design (lower performance but greater reliablity is the Kat)
            extensive use of aluminum for lighter weight (kat has steel frame)