X

Clutch cable broke while riding

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clutch cable broke while riding

I'm no expert but I think my clutch cable went out on me while riding. I was down shifting coming to a red light and the clutch lever just lost all resistence as if the cable snaped. So needless to say I had to get towed on my first real riding day of the season. I hope this isn't a sign of what's to come. I just bought this bike and it's my first bike. I even got up early just to ride since I've been checkin the weather all week for the 1st good day. Oh man hope this didn't cost much!

I have had to ride twice without a clutch after my cable snapped. When u get it repaired, make sure the adjuster on the handlebar and the adjuster nut are NOT aligned, it will cause it to fray and bbreak.
    Must read for carb tuners......http://www.factorypro.com/tech/tech_...m_engines.html

Comment

The cable doesn't cost much and it's easy to install yourself. Takes a 1/2" wrench and a couple of allen wrenches to pull the windscreen, left mirror, left fairing, belly fairing and sprocket cover. Contact The CyberPoet and he can have you one in a couple of days at a really good price. (I just replaced mine.) Before you replace it though, make sure it didn't just come disconnected. Not normal but could happen. Top end of the cable is obvious and the bottom end is inside the sprocket cover on the left side of the engine. You can check for a broken cable by disconnecting it at the lever and pulling on it. If the cable comes out of the housing it's broke. (There's supposed to be a ball at both ends.) If not then maybe you get lucky and it just came disconnected.
      Wherever you go... There you are!

17 Inch Wheel Conversion
      HID Projector Retrofit

Comment