X

So I'm screwed

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So I'm screwed

The guy at the bike shop calls my ignition which i tried to install myself was installed for 59.50 great...........but there's more replaced the blown fuses and connected the wires.......that was a freebie apparently leading into telling me that my number four cyclinder isn't firing. He's gonna be out tomorrow and give me a call back on Thursday. So what do you guys think how much am I going to get screwed out of for not bringing a bike mechanic with me when I brought this thing.
    Let your bloodline fuel my youth!!!

is he putting new parts on ??

is he having to trace electrical faults ??

has he gotta open the carbs and clean/set them ??

was the bike cheap ??

how much are his hourly rates ?

and finally why aren't you learning to do these things yourself ??

cheap bike means plenty of opportunity to learn, or you saw shiney and didn't think about learning ....

i'm self taught, been stripping engines since i was 18 and taught myself to sort electrical gremlins from about the age of 22, carbs are still my struggle point...

buy a good manual (Haynes or Clymer) and spend some on some decent tools as you go along, a few here and there and looked after will more than pay for themselves ....

don't whinge about no garage to work in, i built my 650 Bonneville and my 500 Daytona in my fourth floor flat, there's always a way around a problem
    it ain't broke ....

i ain't fixed it enough

Comment

the problem

is that I just don't have enough time to do it myself, I'm a college student with twelve summer credits which means two hour classes on average and four of them for most of my summer. I also work 35hrs a week. If I had time I'd love to tinker with it so I know what is goin on ya know.
      is he putting new parts on ?? And to answer your questions

is he having to trace electrical faults ??
      yes, and that lead to this diagnosis