X

Replacing Oil Pipes

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Replacing Oil Pipes

Hey all, new here. I recently picked up a 92 Katana 1100 that has a big oil leak coming from what I think are called oil downpipes. I am a car mechanic but new to motorcycles. I've had an old Honda CB500 that I got running after sitting for many years. On the Honda, I rebuilt and synced the carbs, redid the exhaust, cleaned the gas tank and fixed some other little stuff so I am familiar with the general ordeal of bikes but really new to riding.

For the Katana, it looks like the head will have to come off or, at least, lifted up a little to get the oil pipes off, is this right? Can this be done with the engine in the bike? Another issue I have is finding a front left peg bracket, mine is broken. Anybody have one or ever made one? Pic't below are the parts I'm talking about. The engine pic is a pic of the computer screen and shows the two pipes that are leaking.

Thanks for any help

Yes, you have to lift the head. The pipes have a rubber O-Ring that seals either end. The head bolted in place holds the pipes in.

Krey
    93 750 Kat

Modified Swingarm, 5.5 GSXR Rear with 180/55 and 520 Chain, 750 to 600 Tail conversion, more to come. Long Term Project build thread http://katriders.com/vb/showthread.php?t=96736

"I've done this a thousand times before. What could possibly go wron.... Ooops!"

Comment

Can I get to these with the motor in the bike?

Comment

I have no idea about engine internals like that, but once she's running and cleaned up you'll have once nice looking bike

Comment

Not really easy.

What I would suggest is you lift and support the frame at the front from the top.

Remove the front forks/wheel.

Take the large rear center bolts for the engine out.

Take the 2 bolts either side of the engine cradle out

Take the forward bolts out of the rear engine cradle, and use the rear ones to pivot on.

The engine will tilt down and you can do the swap out then.