X

2002 Katana GSX600F Starting Engine

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 2002 Katana GSX600F Starting Engine

Hey guys, newbie here to bikes, just picked up my first used bike, the guy who sold it to me started it up no problem a couple of times and rode it around without a problem. I put it up on a trailer and it's been sitting in my garage as I got my learner's permit, registration, etc. I downloaded both the service and owner's manuals and tried to start it up myself but no luck.. I thought maybe one of you can offer me some tips or let me know if I'm doing something wrong I have the fuel valve in the ON position, left-side kick stand is UP, the transmission pedal is shifted into the NEUTRAL (N) position as the GREEN dash light indicates, the key is in the ON position, the RED engine cut-off button is pressed down and the clutch lever is squeezed (DISENGAGED) and when I press the start button, nothing at all happens, no click, no turn over nothing at all, perfect silence.. I checked the 15 amp ignition fuze, it's fine, I tried the valve in the PRI position first for a few seconds then ON, I brought the choke lever down toward me as well, nothing. The only thing I did to the bike since I got it was change the break and clutch levers and pretty sure I did it correctly as both have tension and didn't seem like it was too involved. Please HELP!

Originally posted by surfoutlaw View Post
    The only thing I did to the bike since I got it was change the break and clutch levers and pretty sure I did it correctly as both have tension and didn't seem like it was too involved. Please HELP!
    Did you bypass or reconnect the Clutch Safety Switch? Not something I've ever done as mine was already bypassed, but this comes to mind when you say you switched the controls out... Just an idea, wait for more feedback
    92' 600- Bought 4th of July 2012