Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

How do you "dump the clutch" without shutting off the bike..

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• How do you "dump the clutch" without shutting off the bike..

I tried to hold down the clutch, switch into first, then rev the engine to about 8 rpm and when i let go of the clutch it shuts off.

Can somone explain to me how to do this and do it without

A. Shutt off the bike
    B. Flipping the bike

Thanks
    Blake

I dunno as I'm a newb too... But have you tried feathering the clutch just ever so slightly? Also, are you still giving enough throttle to not stall? You can't just rev it up, release throttle and dump the clutch. With only 600CC's, a heavy bike + rider, you'll still need a bit of throttle.

And why on Earth would you do this? Are you trying to wheelie or burn out? I really suggest you invest in some gear!
    WTB: ANY Katana located in Bangkok, Thailand. :-/

Comment

it takes practice to get the rate right trying to leave the line quick. Ease it out smoothly and once it feels like it's starting to grab decent, let it out the rest of the way smoothly as you give it more throttle. The more you practice, the better you get, but it's hard on the clutches, chain and sprockets, not to mention dumping it too quick could cause problems with the transmission.
      John,
      '05 GSXR750, '86 FZX700 Fazer, wifes bike '02 R6
      sigpic

Comment

I dont wanna do it a lot. i just want to "know how" to do it incase i wanna start quick or something at a light.

Thanks though

Comment

Being that bikes are so light, I never thought you'd need more than a semi- fast release. But dumping it like a cager clutch? Wow! You guys must have good tires!

Allowing some slip still launches me hard enough to aggressively throw my body backwards!
          Last edited by djct_watt; 05-29-2008, 07:32 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost
          WTB: ANY Katana located in Bangkok, Thailand. :-/