X

WINTER RIDING....GEAR ADVICE NEEDED

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• WINTER RIDING....GEAR ADVICE NEEDED

lets say you need to ride 200-300 miles per day every day during the dead of winter in west tennessee and i need to stay super warm and dry what would you use?....lets say you already have a top quality Nitro 2-piece set of rain gear.....what changes would you make to your 2006 katana and what gear would you use on a daily basis??.....its time for me to start buying stuff for the upcoming winter for my motorcycle courier business and i need your opinions....thanks......oh yeah,absolute lowest temperature will be 20 degrees but average temperature will be 35-40 degrees in this area....so i gotta stay warm and dry for 200-30 miles everyday an about 6 hours tops.......bike mods?....gear?....help!!!!!.......thnaks
    I RIDE FOR A LIVING...WHAT ABOUT YOU??

Heated grips, polypro top, bottom and balaclava (covers neck too). Also I would make sure to have a breath guard in your helmet along with a chin piece that kinds of seals the helmet.

I rode the bike all through the winter here with the longest break being 2 weeks. Usually in the high teens and twenties. I only had one regret, and that was not getting heated grips! The polypro stuff under the leathers was amazing and kept me warm. I also recommend an Icon Mil Spec vest over your gear. During that cold time here , people REALLY don't see you in comparison to the warmer months. Perhaps because there are hardly any bikers on the road and it is usually darker out all day.
    "I have told you all this so that you may have peace in me. Here on earth you will have many trials and sorrows. But take heart, because I have overcome the world."
    JOHN 16:33

Comment

Heated grips are good down to around 30 . Afetr that , your palms sweat , but the back of your hands freeze .