X

Tire pressures and RPM

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tire pressures and RPM

I realize it's winter in most places, but I am starting to prepare for this seasons drags. I bought my 96 750 Kat a few weeks ago to run the 1/8 mile at our local strip. What do most run for tire pressure to avoid spinning the rear tire? Also, how high can I tach it up for launch without flipping the bike or spinning? I know there are quite a few variables in that question. I am just looking for a general number and can tweak it from there depending on circumstances. I have no mods on the bike and will run it stock since its my first year racing.

I will be practicing the launch for a few months in a large lot before I hit the track, so practice time is not an issue. I will start small and work my way up.

TIA

My wife asked me, "Why don't you make love to me like they do in the movies?" So I did and she got mad. Evidently we don't watch the same type of movies.

I have found just slightly lower tire pressures are adequate. The Kat is pretty heavy and with stock gearing, I don't have much lifting or spinning problems at the strip. Bear in mind I am at 5000+ feet so HP is down, I can turn about a 12.5 in the quarter

Be careful practicing in a lot, I can easily spin the rear tire on concrete or asphalt but the strip is treated and you will have a lot more traction
    sigpic
    Pepe Bouchard

Comment

Originally posted by Marksf8 View Post
      I have found just slightly lower tire pressures are adequate. The Kat is pretty heavy and with stock gearing, I don't have much lifting or spinning problems at the strip. Bear in mind I am at 5000+ feet so HP is down, I can turn about a 12.5 in the quarter

Be careful practicing in a lot, I can easily spin the rear tire on concrete or asphalt but the strip is treated and you will have a lot more traction

Thanks for the info. I will take it into consideration when practicing.