X

Couple of questions about wires

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Couple of questions about wires

Ok so I took the plastics off last night(I think I may just replace all the plastics instead of trying to repair them, lots of cracks here and there)
    and I found this little fan that is unplugged and has a big rubber tube(i dont have the manual and it isnt really pertaining to what it is but how i found it)

pic:

Why would this be unplugged? When I plugged it in it just turned on like it was hardwired.

Also I think I shorted something out.

At the tail where the brake light is there is a bundle of wires. two of which are not connected.

(Look where tips of my fingers are pointing)

After just kinda seeing what is going on back there I thought they may have been together at one time. (I am total noob when it comes to electrical wires unless its a plug and play operation lol) I went to see if maybe it was the reason the rear brake wont light up the tail light when depressed and i had no neutral, oil, or turn signal lights and no engine turn or spark.

But now only that little fan and the Headlight(low and hi) work when the key is. I checked the main fuses to see if maybe i popped or blew a fuse and they looked alright, however a spider had mad its death bed inside the fuse box lol.

Any ideas?

If need be I will just replace all the wiring harnesses and fuses. however the battery is rather new so I am doubtful of the battery being the problem.
    Last edited by ADyingBreed; 01-03-2009, 05:38 PM.

Oh no! California model!

The fan is there so that when you shut off the bike, it cools the carbs down so not so much gas vapor is atomized into the air. It's an emissions thing...

The two wires I THINK are nothing, I had similar ones on my 93. They kinda came from nowhere and went to nothing