X

pore gas mileage

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• pore gas mileage

ive been riding my newly acquired 1990 600 for a couple months now and every time i fill up and calculate my gas mileage its always around 38 mpg (35 was the lowest ive gotten and 39 was the highest). ive cleaned out the carbs, changed the oil and put in a new air filter and no change. i ride very conservatively usually shifting in the low 4ks. i use the bike for commuting and do most of my riding at steady speeds of 60 or 75 mph depending on the road im on (75mph=6.5krpm).

ive read that with conservitive riding your mpg can get as high as 50 and im nowhere near that. the bike has an aftermarket exhaust and a stage 1 dino-jet kit, could those mods be hurting my gas mileage that much?
    Last edited by kamkamdac; 03-21-2013, 02:59 AM.

yes, they can

Comment

Tone down the cruising speed RPMs, I too had a similar issue then one day I said screw it, I am going to keep it at around 5krpms which is about 60mph and was able to hit 45mpg. I also was in full stealth tuck mode!

You may also want to look at things like your float height and a/f screw position. Also, but I may be incorrect here, you may have adjustable needles? make sure those clips are in the proper position as well.

clean the soot off your tail pipe, how quickly does it turn black again? how is your idle? if you rev it up in neutral and let it drop is it a steady drop back to idle? or does it dip and come back up again?
      -Brandon

Comment

Originally posted by kamkamdac View Post