X

new bike, fuel switch problem

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• new bike, fuel switch problem

I just got a new bike shipped from across the country(a 1997 gsx-r katana 750). the seller emptied all the fuel and im pretty new to bikes. i cant seem to get fuel to the engine and dont know what position the fuel switch has to be on in order to make it happen. one reads fuel, another reads prime, another off and the last one is on, ive tried the latter 3 with no results and i cant get the switch to go to the fuel setting. if it needs to be on the fuel setting, i need to know how to get it to turn to that setting. thanks!

I'm pretty sure that fuel "setting" is a label. It should have 3 settings run prime and reserve. I am no expert but I believe prime is switch forward and that lets fuel flow into carbs while bike is off for when its been sitting. Run is self explanatory but switch pointing down. Then reserve switch facing rear accesses a small reserve amount of fuel. I am no bike expert. Worked on cars my whole life and I have been studying my 92 kat 600 nonstop since I got it. Have you tried choking it I'm sure. How fast is it turning over. My bike is very cold natured but if I set it.on.prime for 20-30 secs then switch to run full choke then hit start button for a couple seconds let go then give it like have throttle let go and then starter again it fires up if its been sitting for a week in 30° weather. Good luck and I'm sure someone here will either verify what I've said or completely disagree

I looked a lil deeper I believe prime is 3 o'clock run is 6 and Res is 9 but I'm pretty sure fuel is just a label. Reserve makes it vacuum fuel from the bottom of the tank run a little higher and prime lets it flow without the vacuum the other two need. At the bottom of this page it say similar threads. I just got tthat info from there in about 3 minutes
    Last edited by adamgdup24; 02-09-2013, 02:53 AM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

Comment