X

Idling at 5000rpm

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Idling at 5000rpm

OK ya'll. Took the carbs and cleaned them out. When I start the bike cold, it runs at about 3000-4000rpm until it warms up. Then it idles at 1100 as it should. However, after about 4 or 5 minutes idling, it suddenly jumps to 5000 or higher. Any ideas? Not looking forward to rebuilding carbs.

What bike do you have?

Comment

1993 Katana 750

Comment

I have a rebuilt set with a full Dynojet jet kit included, it just depends how much you are not looking forward to rebuilding the carbs.
        [ame="http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=190709687593&ssPageNam e=STRK:MESE:IT"]carburetors carbs Suzuki GSX750F Katana 750 89-97[/ame]
        Last edited by arsenic; 08-05-2012, 06:56 PM.

Comment

I saw that online, they look nice, but they are $200 more than i bought the bike for. I can rebuild them, i just didn't want to. Carbs are a pain in the butt. I was a car mechanic for many years, but I have come to find bikes are a different animal. You know of any rebuild kits? Also, is that what you think the issue is? Carbs?
          I would rather work on a backfiring holley 4 barrel, than these tiny mikunis. Not that they are bad, but they are small.
          Last edited by jmkoch; 08-05-2012, 07:03 PM. Reason: added info

Comment

They are $200 more then you bought a paper weight for. A Katana without good carbs is nothing but a 500 lbs paper weight. It's either dirty carbs, or a vacuum leak issue. Have you synced the carbs yet? If not,do that, that should remove that aspect of a possible vacuum leak.

Comment

Sorry, but salaries in the military aren't exactly high these days to drop $500 on carbs. Maybe next time I deploy I'll hold a little back for them. Thanks for the info, but I could do without the snarky attitude, I get enough of that at work. Not trying to be a jerk, but I'm not a big fan of being talked down to.

Comment