X

High idle Help!!!

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• High idle Help!!!

just got my bike running for the first time since i bought it, i have somewhat of a high idle its at 3 and a half 4, my guessing is to clean the carbs maybe adjust the screw, opinions please?

I am no expert and I am sure others will give feedback but I just had close to the same issue. It would idle fine at times, other times be at 2 to 4. I checked the throttle cables to make sure they were not binding, frayed, and also that they were ran correctly from carb to throttle. That was fine so I tore down the carbs using carburetors 102 for a thorough cleaning, that is where I found a bent butterfly, broken pilot jet, broken starter jet and a bent main jet holder all thanks to one of the previous owners. From what I have gathered from others and the carb 102, if the idle was hanging and then dropping, that is cleaning otherwise something else is going on like a vacuum leak or something like what I found etc. Hope that may help you some until someone posts.

Comment

Originally posted by 609njkatana View Post
      my guessing is to clean the carbs
      You just answered your own question. And sync also. If you still have a high idle, start searching for a vacuum leak.

Comment

So i figured it out and the throttle cable needs to be rerouted the L pipe that comes off the throttle isnt really attached well and i noticed when i move it the idle would go up

Comment

THe L-pipe? That's your choke. When you move it, the idle is supposed to go up. They are all like that.

Comment

I think he may be talking about the cable sheath how they
            have the L bend in them

Comment

Originally posted by 05RedKat600 View Post
              THe L-pipe? That's your choke. When you move it, the idle is supposed to go up. They are all like that.
              theres one on the throttle side too, im not that much of an idiot -_-

Originally posted by djdaredevil View Post