X

need help 92 gsx750f wont crank

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• need help 92 gsx750f wont crank

i got the bike from a friend who bought it and said it doesnt run i was told it wouldnt do anything and it needed an ignition module so he bought a ignition module and a new battery and now it makes a click and thats it the key was lost so it has to be turned with a screwdriver and the housing for the ignition was cracked in the process. i am a car mechanic with no bike knowledge so its unfamiliar territory but i know my way arounf engines and electrical syatems and would like some input. it was sitting for a year and i just took out the battery and have it on a slow charge so and ideas on why this thing wont crank???

start checking voltage from battery and work your way from there. To and from start switch, to and from starter relay, at the starter. You can unplug the ignition switch and jump the plugs with 2 jumper wires to eleminate that as a cause.
    When all else fails get a bigger hammer

Comment

i have the battery charging now and i am going to try bypassing the ignition switch and where is the starter relay i have all the plastic pieces off already and the 4 fuses to the rear of the battery are 10 amp and good idk what they r for but they r good

Comment

Go here and download the schematic for your Kat, this should help with sorting out/testing the electrical.
        http://www.7thgeardesigns.com
        http://www.lunchtimecigar.com
        '90 Suzuki 750 Kat

"Shut up and drink your gin" - Fagin (Oliver Twist)
        "But, as is the usual scenario with a Harley it was off-line when it crashed," Schwantz added dryly.
        "You didn't hear what I meant to say" - my Son

Comment

Pretty simple.

First, make sure the engine isn't frozen (roll it in 4th gear and drop the clutch.... it should spin the engine a little bit)