X

Sprocket Bearing

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sprocket Bearing

I just recently got a 1994 Katana 750. it has an oil leak so i tore down what i could and i've discovered that the drive sprocket shaft bearing is SMOKED, it litterally fell out of the bike in four pieces. i just looking for anyone with pointers/information that can help me replace this bearing (escpecially how to find the right bearing for my bike, and whether or not im going to have to remove the transmission from the bike or not.) i'm not a pro with bike tech, but im not useless either. Really want to get this bike on the road, its my first bike and its killing me to have it sit in my garage, please help!

Parts Look-up

Click--->Parts Microfiche

No.#38 in the photo is what is bad?. They give a measurement, and you might try here as well.

Click--->A Bearing House
    Last edited by SACS; 05-04-2011, 11:20 AM.

Comment

First.. welcome to KR..
      Go to the Wiki and download the manual for your year.. look up the transmission tear down/rebuild section, that should give you an idea of what is involved to replace the bearing.. I haven't had to deal with the trans on my bike so I can't really give any advice on removing it.

As far as getting a new bearing, you can get them from your dealer, bikebandit or another online store or take the outer race to your local industrial bearing supply and they can x-ref the number that's on the outer race.
      http://www.7thgeardesigns.com
      http://www.lunchtimecigar.com
      '90 Suzuki 750 Kat

"Shut up and drink your gin" - Fagin (Oliver Twist)
      "But, as is the usual scenario with a Harley it was off-line when it crashed," Schwantz added dryly.
      "You didn't hear what I meant to say" - my Son

Comment

yes, i think i need to replace everything from No. #39-40

Comment

Originally posted by 94katana750 View Post
          yes, i think i need to replace everything from No. #39-40