X

idling issue cleaning carbs questions

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• idling issue cleaning carbs questions

i read the 101 and narrowed my problem down to the pilot jets are clogged, since the bike would run with the choke, and ran well if revved, but wouldnt hold idle for more than a few seconds without giving it throttle.

anyway, i decided to do a semi overhaul cleaning of the carbs, since its my first time actually working on carbs.

since the pilots and main jets are directly next to each other, i removed both.

the pilot jets were seated ALL the way down, like wouldnt get any tighter. is this normal? the guide said tighten them down to see how many turns.. i just counted the turns up to make sure i had some guideline..

i lost one of the rubber stoppers for the pilot jets , can i plug with silicone?

i also broke one of the nipples on the top. each carb has one and its covered with a plug...silicone it shut too?

You are confusing the pilot jets with the A/F screws I think.

They aren't the same thing.

Turns OUT tells you nothing useful. You must count turns IN on the A/F screws.
    -Steve

sigpic
    Welcome to KatRiders.com! Click here to register
    Don't forget to check the Wiki! http://katriders.com/wiki

Comment

The guide doesn't say count the turns out on the pilot jets, it says count the turns out on the pilot (or a/f) SCREW. I wouldn't use silicone for a pilot jet plug. You can not just plug the nipple on the top with silicone. That where the manometer plugs in. You need a new diaphragm cover.

Comment

I think the rubber plugs he's talking about, are the ones in the pre carbs under the main jets... but no way to tell for sure
        -Steve

sigpic

Comment

Originally posted by steves View Post
          Turns OUT tells you nothing useful. You must count turns IN on the A/F screws.
          I disagree. Tighten the screws until lightly seated, then you count the turns out. 2.5 turns out if optimal.