X

starting problem

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• starting problem

Okay I am very new to this I like got an account about a month ago read carbs 101 and then nothing more on the site.

Okay this maybe long I don't know... but here goes!

as it stands my bike wion't start.

I have a 96 600 kat with 18K on it.

I have done everything possible the bike will start on started fluid and run and once warmed up it idles great and really rips off once the bike is started and warmed up I can let go for 20 minutes or more and it will start right up again!

However if I go out the next day I hit the start button and it almost catches and wants to start but doesn't so spray starter fluid in and it starts! with choke on does everything just fine after start!

Here is what I did to the bike.

1. clean carb s about 10 times very very thourgh about it.
    2. de rusted entire tank petcock and anything else rusty.
    3. clenaed air filter and air box
    4. replaced all gaskets inside the carbs.
    5. I attempted doing a valve adjustment however I do not know how to adjust shims and they all seemed to be in specs.
    6. did carb sync on the bike when finished deffinatly changed how it runs and idles and even starts

However it is really cold here of late but a well made bike should be able to start on it's own it is only 36 to 38 degrees not like below 32

I DO NOT UNDERSTAND!

I read that if you have to spray carb clean then it is too lean but then I heard it means it is too rich! I don't know please any help any at all or point me in the right direction!

My girlfriend wants her bike to be ready for spring and I have been working on it for about 4 months now and it is coming soon!

PLEASE LET ME KNOW YOUR THOUGHT!
    *Rep*
    CBR F4 99
    Katana 96
    CBR F3 97

make sure the battery is fully charged and try putting the bike on prime for about 30 seconds prior to starting see if that helps
    sigpic