X

Can someone help?

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Can someone help?

Hey everyone, so I have a '96 Katana 600 and for some reason (not sure why) whenever I go to turn it on, rev it a little, after that the bike just shuts down? Does anyone know why, I've seen it running before but since I don't have an endorsement until next week, I can't really ride it. So its been sitting for like 2 weeks or so. Any suggestions on what to look for? D: I'm new to bikes also so that might be a problem >_<

'96 Suzuki Katana GSX600F

Set the petcock to prime and crank the bike for 15 secs or so. Your carb float bowls are probably dry.
    02 Katana 600 (weekend toy) 11.892 @ 111.92 MPH
    90 GSXR 750/1216
    96 Chevy S-10 (work truck)
    87 Rear Engine Dragster 8.46 @ 157MPH
    sigpic

Comment

The petcock is that knob on the left side right? It was on RES, so I turned it to PRI hopefully that is what you mean xD lol.

Also is it bad to have it set on prime if its sitting?
      Last edited by Jaysushi; 12-18-2010, 12:00 PM. Reason: Automerged Doublepost

Comment

OK, it was probably on RES (Reserve) for a reason. Try filling the tank.
        Wherever you go... There you are!

17 Inch Wheel Conversion
        HID Projector Retrofit

Comment

Yeah that was my next best option I had in mind.

Comment

Side stand switch???

Comment

Originally posted by Jaysushi View Post
              Yeah that was my next best option I had in mind.
              Toss a couple of gallons in there and see what you get. Entirely possible it's nothing more cosmic than being out of gas. (You'll still have a bit sloshing around in there after the pickup isn't reliable about supplying it anymore.)

Next thing to check for would be kinked fuel lines. If the PO replaced them with generic line it's real easy to leave them too long. If you do then they'll kink instead of making a nice, smooth bend.
              Wherever you go... There you are!

17 Inch Wheel Conversion