X

tranny shift hard

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• tranny shift hard

Hey i'm new to this just got my first kat. When i shift up it seems to be kinda loud coming from the tranny but only when its below about 5,000 and when i down shift sometimes i hear this soft click that just started happening but when i down shift it has always down shifted kinda loud? I heard that kats have a loud motor sound that its just them is this the same kind of issue?

A friend of a friend told my friend making that shift was hard. I'd never go that way...okay, sorry man, just couldn't resist. Hope you get a good answer. Shoot me...today was crazy righteous.

"A knight proves his worthiness by his deeds."

Comment

I don't know what "loud" is to you- but you can hear it when the bike shifts, yes. It's not that the Kat has a specifically loud transition between gears, it's just...I dunno...audible.

"People rike me. Because I force them to. With viorence!"
      -Travis of the Cosmos

Comment

I've noticed that I have to use a bit more effort to shift up through the gears on the Kat than I did on my Kawasaki but nothing out of the ordinary. I just got mine yesterday and I shifted into neutral instead of second a couple of times in my travels but quickly recovered and made the shift to second before I ran into any major problems.

One similarity that I noticed is that both my Kat and my Kawasaki make almost a "clunk" noise when going from 6th gear to 1st gear (especially going from 2nd down to first through neutral). In my case I just consider it the normal operation of the motorcycle since both bikes do the same thing.

My 4 Wheeled Ride: 2013 Mazda 3
        My 2 Wheeled Ride: 2006 Suzuki Katana 600

Zis Is KAOS! We Don't Shush Here!

Comment

I can't hear my transmission with my ear plugs in...
          2015 KTM 1290 Super Adventure
          2005 Suzuki 750 Katana, sold
          1984 Kawasaki gpz 550, sold
          1982 Suzuki gs400e - sold