X

? about a bike that was sitting 6 years

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ? about a bike that was sitting 6 years

I have a 1997 katana 600, that has been sitting for 6 years. I have general knowledge about my engine but I am no expert. I know shame on me I never winterized it and it has been forgotten about. Besides a new battery, new plugs, drain the gas tank, and oil and filter change. Will it start or am I missing something. Thanks

The tires are probably dry rotted. There is probably air in the brake lines and you will also need to flush and add new brake fluid. The tank is probably badly rusted and the fuel has probably turned to green gel in the tank, gas lines and the carbs. Depending on "where" it was sitting you may also have a couple wasts nest or maybe the vacated home of a squirrel hanging around in there somewhere. Good luck getting it back on the road dude. Just take your time and pay attention to making sure that everything is okay again.
    'REMEMBER SOME PEOPLE ARE
    ALIVE SIMPLY BECAUSE IT IS
    ILLEGAL TO SHOOT THEM'

sigpic----------------------------------------

Comment

Probably gonna need a new chain and sprockets as well, every hose will most likely need to be replaced. Sitting for six years is a long time...
      90% of motorcycle forum members do not have a service manual for their bike.

Originally posted by Badfaerie
      I love how the most ignorant people I have met are the ones that fling the word "ignorant" around like it's an insult, or poo. Maybe they think it means poo
      Originally posted by soulless kaos
      but personaly I dont see a point in a 1000 you can get the same power from a properly tuned 600 with less weight and better handeling.

Comment

fire it up and let us know if the carbs are fine or acting up ...post a pic.

Comment

6 years?