X

couple of quick questions about my new bike

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• couple of quick questions about my new bike

Earlier this week I bought a 1998 katana 600. I got a pretty good deal on it. It has a d&d pipe on it and the carbs have been jetted. It runs pretty good, but shoots flames on deceleration. I'm pretty sure it is running rich. It has been sitting for a few months, so I drained the gas tank and put new gas in it. I put 93 octane with some seafoam in it. I put new plugs, NGK iridiums, in it, and changed the oil and filter. I have a bit of an oil leak from the oil cooler line, but that will be getting fixed later this week. Besides that, it as a great bike.
    I took a video of the bike to show what I mean about the flames. [ame]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tjMwH2Th0zc[/ame]
    It also tries to hold the rpms for a second after I let off the throttle, which I assume is because of it running rich.
    I am pretty new to bikes, my last bike was a 1982 honda cb900, which I didn't have for long. I have read quite a few posts and get some conflicting answers.
    Is there any way I can check to make sure the carbs actually are jetted?
    Thanks in advance for any help you provide.
    Bill

Try getting your carbs balanced first, this should get your fuel/air mixture sorted out.
    Your damned if you do, and your damned if you don't (Bart Simpson)

Comment

No , and no . You're running LEAN most likely .
      I am a fluffy lil cuddly lovable bunny , dammit !

Katrider's rally 2011 - md86

Comment

Originally posted by md86 View Post
        No , and no . You're running LEAN most likely .
        agreed, thats why youre rpm's are hanging
        sigpic
        -Cory-
        1997 Katana 600

-see my garage for mods-

'pegs are down for you anytime CP'

Comment