X

going insane trying to fix.

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• going insane trying to fix.

ok. this is my first bike, and im very new to riding.
    its a 1999 katana 600.
    i just got it about a week ago. i rode it around the day i got it everything worked great, i suck at riding at the moment, so i dropped it. picked it up , waited a few minutes, started it back up and rode it home fine. came out the next day and it wouldn't start. it turns over, backfires (rarely), but won't start. i checked all the basic stuff right away. cutoff switch is in the right position. kickstand is down, bike in neutral. ive tried starting it with the choke on and off.
    a friend of mine came over to help, the first thing we thought was spark plugs. so we checked those. they seem fine. they smelled strongly of gas though, so we gave them a good wipe down and let them air out. we checked all the electrical wiring, the coils, the battery's charged, we even took out the carbs and gave them a thorough cleaning. put them back in, and its still doing the same thing. it just wont start.
    im getting to a whole new level of frustration trying to figure this out. its been almost a week since i've been able to ride, and that was my first ride ever. im tweaking to get back out there.

get new plugs, wiping them off and letting them dry off does nothing. It's not a backfire, that's an after fire

Comment

The stand should be up! not down.

Comment

the stand doesn't have to be up to start it. as long as its in neutral. i'll try getting some new plugs tonight. should i take the old ones out and leave them out for a bit to let it all air out before i throw the new ones in?

Comment

won't hurt

Comment

well i've tried starting it when the stands up too. doesn't change the response i get. i'll try new plugs.

Comment

Originally posted by wickorz View Post