X

Stripped valve cover threads *facedesk*

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stripped valve cover threads *facedesk*

On the screw hole just above the intake valves on cyl #1. It was the last screw we put in, turned it, and it kept turning and turning.

This is on the '99 Kat 750 I'm rebuilding.

The screw hole was in a camshaft bearing retainer cover, on the top. So I really don't want to take it out if I don't have to.

It looks like the best way to repair it is using a Helicoil repair kit. It's my first time doing this sort of thing, so I'd like to hear about what the general experience is like, and whether Helicoil is even the way to go.

Many thanks

I'd imagine a helicoil would work fine......... they don't need to take a lot of torque. But really, take the cam cap off and work on it away from the motor. Nobody likes metal shavings in their oil!
    Any and all statements by Loudnlow7484 are merely his own opinions, and not necessarily the opinion of Katriders.com. Anything suggested by him is to be followed at your own risk, and may result in serious injury or death. Responses from this member have previously been attributed to all of the following: depression, insomnia, nausea, suicidal tendencies, and panic. Please consult a mental health professional before reading any post by Loudnlow7484.

Comment

it's a M7 x 1.00 helicoil. You use a 9/32" drill bit it's not hard. However if you try to do it without taking the cap off, that's hard.

Comment

Make sure if you use a heli-coil or perma-coil that you break that tab off at the bottom and remove it before putting it back together.

Tmod

Comment

yeah, that very clear in the instructions, they mean that. And ya, I have perma-coil set, I couldn't find a heli-coil kit.

Comment

Perma-coil, I will look for that. M7x1.00, that saves me a bunch of time! And I'll be sure to take the piece off before drilling it out. Thanks very much all!

Comment