X

FLAT TIRE FIX IN AN EMERGENCY

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• FLAT TIRE FIX IN AN EMERGENCY

what do you guys recommend to fix a flat tire on the side of the road if you get stranded?.....im looking for something inexpensive that will at least make it 20-30 miles till i can find someone to plug my tire....will fix-a-flat work in our tires fairly well??
    I RIDE FOR A LIVING...WHAT ABOUT YOU??

I wouldn't use fix a flat. As the tire flexes during cornering the fix a flat may not stay adhered causing lose a air pressure. Every time I have used f-a-f I 've had troulbe with the valve stems too. I've used plug kits on both front and rear tires (rear has more miles on it with a plug than I care to have right now but $$ are in short supply right now) simple to use. I carry the 2 tools, plugs and small dc compressor. If your going to plug it yourself just be careful not to loose the plug strip inside the tire. Did that on my front the second strip worked but it felt like the balance was off with the first try inside the tire.
    sigpic

Comment

Tire plug and a bicycle pump? I bet if you search on it, you'll figure out what The CyberPoet reccomends.
      -Steve

sigpic
      Welcome to KatRiders.com! Click here to register
      Don't forget to check the Wiki! http://katriders.com/wiki

Comment

Carry plugs and walmart sells a little CO2 cartridge thing that is real small. Takes 4 cartridges to refill tire. I keep the whole kit in a small cloth bag. Does not take up much space at all.
        2006 Katana 750+

Comment

I carry a plug kit and an electric pump. I always try to have a used but still usable tire at home to change out a punctured tire. I discard punctured tires, but have put around 500 miles on a plugged tubeless MC tire before.

Comment