X

Slip-ons and Sound

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Slip-ons and Sound

I'm looking at getting one, but I don't want it to be too loud.

What would you guys recommend, and how loud are they? Is there much of a difference between the brands, and do the differences in quality justify the differences in price?

In my opinion, the D&D is VERY loud, but a lot of people have and love them.

I'm leaning towards a Yoshimura, but have heard complaints that the sound is not very different from stock. I find this to be close true at idle, but the bike sounds throatier and a bit "tuned" with the Yoshi while on the throttle.

Scorpion, TwoBorthers, and Vance & Hines are other options, but I have no first-hand experience with them on a Katana.
    -2005 Katana GSX750F ***SOLD***
    -2006 Kawasaki ZX-6R

RideGear.com (I keep shooting, but they won't DIE!)

Comment

It's really all about personal preference........I did a lot of research and listened to a lot of sound clips before I finally chose the Yoshimura RS-3. It's a little louder than the stock exhaust at idle, but when you really get on the throttle, it sounds awesome!!!!!!! I passed my brother the other day on his R1 with twin Hindles, and probably was in the 7000-8000 RPM range and he said that it was crazy loud!!! Yea, once you get it going above 7000 RPM, it really sounds nice. Suzuki + Yoshi = match............

Comment

Here is the souind clips that I made from my bike before and after I put on my new Yoshimura. Whether or not you heard them yet???

Comment

Yoshimura RS-3 Slip on is the way to go. I have one and love it. The louder the pipe the safer the bike, you want the cars to hear you.

Comment

My Vance & Hines is louder than that but not as loud as the D&D. I like it but it seems I'm the only one with a V&H on my bike. Full ss2r sounds good to me.

Comment

V&H take a listen