Ad Widget

Collapse

Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.
X

All the guys who know painting procedures!!!

Collapse
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• All the guys who know painting procedures!!!

I only recently stopped into this part of the forum and there seems to be a lot of the same questions. So while i'm not a pro be any means at all I have done enough research and painted quite a few vehicles at his point. I figure that i could start this thread as a start to a basic guide to what you need to do and get to paint your bike the right way so it lasts. I saw that AzCyco Started this I and then a few things were corrected here and there. So i was hoping we could start with that ans compile a good in depth guide to all the steps you need to do laid out plan and simple that could possibly be stickied! We can just copy the list and make edits to it right here on this thread and then post a final thread when it's complete.
    Hopefully Mojoe will add some stuff to help out.

Materials needed :

Sand paper :: 180 (for bondo/filler) / 400 (after first coat of primer) / 600 (after last coat of primer) / 1000/2000 (clearcoat)

Primer :: plastic primer -- sandable primer (ie 2K primer/surfacer)

Paint (acrylic urethane), Urathane Reducer, Clear coat & Activator (2 Stage Paint Job)

Tac cloth

Distilled water ( for wet sanding, no mineral build up on paint)

Resporator

Gloves (non-powder type)

Paint Strainers

Stir sticks

Plastic container w/ oz marks for measuring

High humidity will effect painting.

**GET the "P-sheets for all your painting products. They will tell you time inbetween coats and other info. All times listed below are just estimates for you basic painting and may vary with paint companies.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

- Sanding ::
    Rough up the existing paint and rough areas with w/ 400. After sanding area, wipe down w/ clean (lint free) cloths.

- Bondo ::